Doctor answers: Why do you need VHIS?

Medical advantages of VHIS

Doctor answers: Why do you need VHIS?

Medical advantages of VHIS

Since the launch of the Voluntary Health Insurance Scheme (“VHIS”), the market has been flooded with all sorts of VHIS-certified plans from numerous insurance companies. While they embrace the new initiative, does the medical industry welcome VHIS with open arms? Dr. Alexander Chiu, Medical Director, Health and Employee Benefits of AXA Hong Kong and Macau, is here to share his opinion.

Q1. Which age group is VHIS best for?


“Although there are no statistics that supports the observation, young adults nowadays are indeed facing bigger challenges every day, which forces them to be desk-bound and work long hours. Their irregular diet also increases fat absorption and thus risk of chronic diseases.”

As an experienced medical doctor, Dr. Chiu reminds us that most medical conditions catch us by surprise. When you are officially diagnosed, it’s too late to seek medical protection. 

Therefore, no matter how old or healthy you are, it’s always wise to get yourself a medical insurance promptly!

Q2. It seems that Hongkongers in different age groups are facing different health problems? 

“You're right. Diseases of affluence caused by obesity and high blood lipids are very common amongst Hongkongers. In fact, one of every ten Hongkongers is a diabetic; 25% of Hongkongers aged 40 or above have high blood pressure; seniors aged 60 or above are also prone to degenerative diseases such as cataract, prostate enlargement and osteoarthritis. Not to mention patients with high blood pressure and diabetes have a higher risk of stroke and heart disease as well.”

It is apparent that our demand for medical services will continue to soar. Unfortunately, our public healthcare system won’t be able to catch up. 

Q3. Are chronic diseases currently rising in younger ages?

“Although there are no statistics that supports the observation, young adults nowadays are indeed facing bigger challenges every day, which forces them to be desk-bound and work long hours. Their irregular diet also increases fat absorption and thus risk of chronic diseases.”

Q4. If there are more chronic disease patients boosting medical needs, can VHIS provide sufficient protection for them then?

“It’s hard to say whether a medical insurance is sufficient or not because it differs from person to person. That said, thinking ahead and getting yourself and your family a medical protection is definitely beneficial."

VHIS has made medical insurance much more affordable to the public. Complemented by other insurance products, it will benefit even more customers.

Q5. VHIS can be paired with different insurance products. Can you share a few examples with us?

"Absolutely. AXA Hong Kong’s 'BetterMe by AXA' is a brilliant example. Since it aims to raise awareness of physical health and wellness, it’s an ideal match with VHIS because together they make an all-round protection for customers.”

While VHIS covers medical expenses for stroke and heart disease treatments, AXA Hong Kong’s "BetterMe by AXA" takes care of the insured person’s post-treatment care and overall health afterwards. For instance, the "AXA Diabetes & Three-Highs Management Programme" provides personalised dietary advice, physical training and health education to help customers manage health conditions effectively. Revolutionising medical insurance products, the initiative offers flexibility for customers and encourages them along their health journey.

The "Quit Smoking Incentive" is another groundbreaking programme by “BetterMe by AXA", which offers customers a reward that equals to the difference between a smoker and non-smoker premium as an incentive to achieve healthy living.

About "VHIS"

AXA WiseGuard Medical Insurance Plan
Smart Medicare
Everything you need to know about "VHIS"

Remarks

自願醫保計劃(「自願醫保」)推出後,參與自願醫保的保險公司都紛紛推出及介紹各自的產品,但從醫學界的角度,「自願醫保」又可為受保人帶來什麼好處?今次我們就請來 AXA安盛醫務總監 ᅳ 醫療及僱員福利業務 邱家駿醫生,分享他對「自願醫保」的看法。

Q1. 「自願醫保」比較適合哪一個年齡層購買?

『大部份人一提到醫療保險,很多時都聯想起年紀較大的人,認為「老了就多病痛」,對醫保有更迫切的需要。其實就算年輕力壯的人,都需要提前將來打算而購買醫保。』

根據邱醫生多年的醫生經驗,大多數疾病都是突如其來,無可預料。試問誰可以預料病症出現的時間。正因如此,不少病人當得知自己患上病症,才發現自己毫無醫療保障,或已經太遲! 

所以,無論任何年紀,有否病患,及早給自己一個保障才是明智的選擇!

Q2. 根據以上說法,似乎不同年齡層的香港人,都正在面對不同的健康問題?

「對。其實現時香港人患有都市病十分普遍。很多人都面臨肥胖、高血脂等等的身體健康問題,繼而引來不同病症。例如每10個香港人,就有1個是糖尿病患者;40歲以上人士,更有四分之一的香港人患有高血壓,而60歲以上人士,就容易有退化性疾病例如白內瘴、前列腺肥大,關節退化等等。患有高血壓、糖尿病的病人,會大大增加中風及患有心臟病的機會。」

由此可見,現時香港對醫療服務的需求越來越大,單單依賴公共醫療服務及設施,已經不能滿足很多人的期望。

Q3. 現時的都市慢性病,有沒有年輕化的趨勢?

「現時並沒有實際數據顯示有年輕化的趨勢,但不論各行各業的年輕人剛投身社會,都不能避免面臨更大的挑戰,加上都市人生活繁忙,運動量少,飲食又不定時;容易吸取過多脂肪,容易引致都市慢性病更趨向年輕化。」

Q4. 既然醫療需求不斷增多,那麼「自願醫保」對長期病患者的保障又是否足夠?

「其實無論任何醫療保險,都很難說足不足夠,因人而異,但能未雨綢繆,為自己和家人準備多一點醫療保障總是好的。」

「自願醫保」的推出,令購買醫保的價錢更相宜,再配合其他不同的保險產品,或可有更多人受惠。

Q5. 「自願醫保」可以配合不同的保險產品,可否舉例子讓大家參考?

『當然可以。AXA安盛的「BetterMe by AXA」就正正是一個好例子。此概念旨在致力推廣健康意識及生活方式,如與「自願醫保」雙管齊下,保障或許更全面。』

「自願醫保」可保障如中風、心臟病和其他嚴重疾病的醫療開支。而AXA安盛的 「BetterMe by AXA」,不單止針對受保人患病後的保障,而是個人健康的可持續性。

例如「BetterMe by AXA」當中的「糖尿及三高管理計劃」,就可透過提供飲食、運動及健康知識上的專業指導及建議,更有效率管理身體狀況。一改固有嘅醫療保險型態,為客戶群提供更大彈性,鼓勵並協助他們改善健康,擁有更健康人生。

此外,由「BetterMe by AXA」主力推動的「戒煙獎勵計劃」,讓成功戒煙的客戶有機會獲得吸煙與非吸煙人士之保費的差額作為獎賞;鼓勵客戶積極戒煙,締造健康人生。


關於「自願醫保」的資訊及產品

more-info-image-mobile more-info-image-desktop

AXA安盛守慧醫療保障

more-info-image-mobile more-info-image-desktop

真智安心醫療保障

more-info-image-mobile more-info-image-desktop

更多有關「自願醫保」的資訊

備註

本文章所提供的資料僅作一般參考資料之用,並不是適用於相關產品或服務的所有條款、條件及不保事項的完整描述。我們強烈建議你參閱相關產品的銷售文件或保單及/或相關服務的條款及條件以取得更多資料。

AXA安盛並不保證本文章資料的準確性,包括由第三者所提供的資料。若閣下因本文章所提供的任何資料及/或使用該等資料而導致任何損失、賠償、費用或其他開支,AXA安盛均不會承擔任何責任。